Whole 30, Second Trimester & Toddler, Naughty Day 4


Ok, not so bad, but I did decide to cave on W30’s “nooo pancakes” rule. I’m totally in agreement with the rule, just perhaps not for toddlers and pregnant mamas. So like I said, sticking to the letter of the law (okay, I guess not that particular side note, but the food list!) but not the spirit.

Let me just keep justifying this a little bit longer so you know how deeply I considered the magnitude of this decision. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I decided for me, I’d rather have E eat two eggs and a banana than mostly fruit and just pick at eggs. He’s making progress in this area, and I will regularly offer him the whole food (see lunch!) but he’s not overweight and I need to keep those lbs on! I’m a huge believer in the Division of Responsibility in Feeding, and just doing my part!

Let’s see the scandalous foods then, and there’ll be some additional justification in a bit. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Told you today was naughty, but I wasn’t just going to show you the squeakiest of days.

How we are feeling:ย EXCELLENT. I’m ecstatic that my plan is working.

IMG_2763.JPG

You know you’re reading a quality blog when the pic is just saved from insta stories. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Four days in, and I’m working my tail off in the kitchen, but we are making headway! Ed has already tried tomatoes, asked for more onions, hard boiled eggs, and asked for salad (but not eaten it) numerous times. He’s also eaten enough yams to make me Google “can you eat too many sweet potatoes?” , but we’re all good. Kevin and I are doing great also, minus the dishes. They are insane when I’m prepping for Kevin’s work lunches, making our dinners, packing up extra leftovers for things. Oh well, It’s totally worth it.

Breakfast time:

Banana, eggs, and a little coconut flour. I’m indulging in Chameleon Cold Brew which I normally have been reserving for the afternoons. It just felt right since today seems like a Faux Friday.

Post-Y snacks. I did a pretty intense metcon (wall balls, burpees, kb swings plus stairs) and E played hard. It was super late so we rushed home for lunch.

Ed is super into carrots now! I’m elated! And he tried hard boiled eggs multiple times although he did seem to think the yolks were butter? I’m so happy my Tessemae’s ranch arrived. I LOVE IT! I can’t make paleo condiments. That’s just beyond my patience level at this point. It was so good on my salad with leftover grilled chicken and hard boiled eggs. I was tempted to eat a second salad during naptime.

IMG_2762

But frozen berries with coconut milk won me over since my cheeks are still REALLY warm from that workout. A little more cold brew. Oops.

Okay, guys. Here’s the bad thing I’m going to do tonight. I have a BABYSITTER. So I’m going out to dinner at Brasa. We LOVE Brasa. It’s the restaurant that tricked us into thinking we’d like Minneapolis (hahahahahahaha— that’s for another post). The food is gluten free. It’s meat, yucca, plantains, etc. The reviews are a little mixed on if it’s “paleo enough” since rumor has it some of the oils they may useย are not W30 compliant. Well, guess what? I’m not going to ask! I’m not at that level right now. If the food is compliant, I’m going to eat it happily andย slowly when my toddler is not in tow. I’m THRILLED to be going out with my husband tonight and will enjoy every bite. Ed will be at home eating chicken, broccoli, and sweet potatoes (and loving it!).

My momย & Hannah are picking up a list for me from Trader Joe’s on their way to babysit because they are the BEST. I’m thrilled not to have to go there. It’s a long list and my sister is concerned about how much we are eating. Lol. I had to tell her that we also supplement heavily with Amazon Prime and we have a ButcherBox coming too!! And what??? Stocking up helps!

So while I’m enjoying Date Night, you can check out these W30 approved pics:

 

This coleslaw was pretty awesome, but I’ll warn you that the pineapple turns purple eventually which really freaked E out!

A LOT of grilled meat… really helps out with lunches. Okay, fine. One more confession. After eating the wraps, I found out the Applegate turkey has carrageenan, a thickener which is on the naughty list. I got TRICKED LIKE A ROOKIE since nearly all of the Applegate deli meats are fine. If you’re worried about pregnant ladies eating deli meat, first of all this, and second of all, I heated it up. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I feel like such a rookie for not seeing that on the label. It was on sale too or I probably would’ve never grabbed ham AND turkey.

Two more toddler plates. My son actually has liked broccoli from birth, thank goodness! And yes, he eats sooo many yams. It’s typically what he has if we are having salad. On the left plate are roasted Carrots of Many Colors from Trader Joe’s. So delicious! And the rest is a simple meal of roasted diced chicken and sweet potatoes. On the right is taco salad, but with broccoli and yams. ๐Ÿ™‚ He loved both plates.

One final thought:

Screen Shot 2017-04-07 at 1.39.12 PM

Happy Fry-day (this post was mostly based on Thursday, Day #4).

Leave a Reply

